2009- Role-Playing Games: The State of Knowledge

by Victoria Jesswein last modified 2020-09-13T17:30:26-07:00
Anders Drachen IT University of Copenhagen Rued Langgaards Vej 7, 2300 CPH S, Denmark drachen@itu.dk Marinka Copier Utrecht University Munstraat 2a, 3512 EV Utrecht, The Netherlands M.Copier@uu.nl Michael Hitchens Macquarie University North Ryde 2106 Sydney NSW, Australia michaelh@ics.mq.edu.au Markus Montola Nokia Research Center Visiokatu 1, FIN-33720 Tampere, Finland Markus.montola@nokia.com Mirjam P. Eladhari Gotland University Cramérgatan 3, 621 57 Visby, Sweden mirjam.eladhari@hgo.se Jaakko Stenros University of Tampere Kanslerinrinne 1, FIN-33014, University of Tampere, Finland Jaakko.stenros@uta.fi ABSTRACT Role-playing games form one of the major genres of games and exist across all hardware platforms as well outside of the technology domain in a huge variety of forms and formats. Role-playing oriented research has focused on culture, storytelling, game processes as well as e.g. user interaction, play experience and character design. Today role-playing games research is an established component of game studies. This panel presents a state of the art of the knowledge of role-playing games research covering a great variety of angles and interests, providing an overview of the current hot topics and future research directions within one of the key genres of games.

Document Actions